Airline Travel Protection? or no?

3Roosters

Founding Member
Founding Member
So my wife and I are looking to head to the Dominican Republic in January for a week at an all inclusive resort. It looks like I can get travel insurance at a cost of about 10% of the trip. On other vacations to Mexico in years past I don't recall us ever getting travel insurance, as I am not a proponent of these types of add ons...not a fan of extended warranties for vehicles, appliances etc, or credit life. Having said that, we have visited with some folks who were damn glad they bought the travel insurance as they ended up needing it.
I am quite sure I wouldn't get the protection if flying just in the U.S. but wondering if the insurance is advised for those vacationing/ flying to destinations outside the U.S.
Any of you have any advice one way or the other concerning travel insurance and if it is a must have?
Thanks!

Retired Educator

★★★★★ Legendary Member
I have never taken it for the same reasons you are using. Recently had a friend who needed to cancel and he had insurance. That would have been a very expensive trip without the insurance. Not much help but it's the problem with all insurance, it's a pain to pay for until you need it.

Ericb

Founding Member
Founding Member
Check what the change fee with the airline and resorts are. Most likley much lower. Also a good credit card probably has protections for you as well.

Farmer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Find out what reason you need to collect. Remember the big print gives you everything and the fine print takes it all away

martinslanding

Founding Member
Founding Member
We never used to get the travel insurance…then we started to purchase it during those probably blizzard months…then we had an unexpected illness in the family, then we had an unexpected death in the family…now we always purchase travel insurance.