How to catch big walleye on the Missouri River

fly2cast

Founding Member
Founding Member
Please tell me.

I've been fishing on the river for many years. The biggest that I have every caught is maybe 7 lbs. I've caught a lot of fish but never the big one. Where does a person catch a big walleye on the river and with what?

We do what works to catch fish but apparently not the big ones. We almost always catch them verticle jigging, with minnow or worm. We find areas of slack water behind sandbars or entrances to bays. Are the big ones somewhere else or need a different presentation? I don't even know where to start finding those big ones because we never catch them.

- - - Updated - - -

I should add that you guys gave me advice last year on how to catch more fish than my brother in the boat. You said to sit downstream of him so that my jig is the first that the fish see. This did make a big difference and now my brother gives me crap for sitting where I do.

JMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
7lbs is a pretty big walleye to most people.

JayKay

Founding Member
Founding Member
Keep trying. I started fishing the Missouri around 1980. Probably started actually trying around 1990. Been fishing the Heskett plant spring and fall for the last 20 or so years. In my opinion, the fishing keeps getting better and better. It took forever to get one over 30, but eventually.. it happened.

zoops

Founding Member
Founding Member
I think the internet often gives false impressions. No doubt some guys are better fishermen than others, but in general you've got to put in a lot of time and effort to catch big fish. And just get lucky sometimes. 30"+ walleyes are not sitting behind every sandbar.

Mort

Founding Member
Founding Member