Kicker Rigging

honkerslayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm in the process of ordering a new 621 Ranger. I'm wondering about setup for the kicker motor. I'm no expert at this as my old boat has no kicker. I'm looking for setup recommendations. If I use a tie-bar and use the power steering at the wheel the dealer is recommending another battery and a separate charger. I'd like to have a trollmaster for the speed control. Do you recommend using it only for speed only or should I install a Panther steering unit for remote steering. It sounds like if I do that I need a different trim/tilt unit.....??? I'm a bit confused and wondering if you guys that run kickers can give me some advice on setup pros and cons.

P.S. I know others might think I'm buying the wrong boat, but I'm pretty set at this point. ;)

AaronJ

Founding Member
Founding Member
Just run a tiller kicker with the trollmaster. Use your bowmount to do all of the steering. This is the least expensive set-up and easy to master trolling contours with this method. If you are running Mercury products you will need 5 batteries in the boat (3 for bowmount, 1 for power steering, and 1 for the rest of the house).

Davey Crockett

Founding Member
Founding Member
Why so many batteries ? I go with one good battery for kicker, main and the rest of the house and carry a jumper system just in case, Never had to use it.

Riggen&Jiggen

Founding Member
Founding Member