Snowmobile fuel mileage

Jigaman

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have lots of experience with four different 97/98 polaris indy trail touring (488cc fan cooled) snowmobiles used for ice fishing and I have a question for the sledheads on here. These sleds are used only for ice fishing and are fantastic cheap, reliable machines but they get horrible fuel mileage. Reading forums on these same sleds the norm is in the low teens for MPG when trail riding. This last weekend we had two of these sleds on Winnipeg and got 4-5 mpg for the trip which is what we normally get. It was very rough so all our miles (about 60/machine) were going about 10-18 mph. Does the slow speed kill the mileage? my sled was pulling a heavy otter but my buddies wasnt pulling anything and he didnt do much better. Thoughts???

HammsRMK

Honored Member
I am not sure on if the speed matters, but first thing I would check is the spark plugs. If they are black that means it is running rich and using way to much fuel. I would also check to see what jets are in it. We always went one to two sizes smaller than what is recommended although we were running in the mountains with the higher performance sleds.

Mort

Founding Member
Founding Member
I suspect was said earlier, may not have them jettted right for that altitude, a rich running sled/motorcycle will lose fuel along with not having the power it should. when I say lose fuel, that means its not burn all of it and it goes in the crankcase, may have bad plug or not hot enough plug to burn all the fuel. Couple of things to look at.

stalker

Founding Member
Founding Member
I wouldn't expect better than 10 with that machine in any conditions. Don't re jet it. All you will do is forget that you did, then go for a ride on a high barometer / cold temp day and end up with a hole in your piston.

Does it smell strong of gas? We end up using one every year for a LOW trip. Last year it took a tank to go 25 miles.