Setting Decoys

Vollmer

Founder
Administrator
Do you guys have go-to tactics for your spread? For geese, I generally do a U shape that flares out a bit like a V on the ends. Landing zone in center, with birds landing into the wind.

I usually dig my blind into the ground a bit if the ground is soft.

Still trying to master calling.

What tactics do you guys use for decoying both ducks and geese? Teach me, oh wise folk.

Kickemup

Founding Member
Founding Member
I use the U spread most of the time but have had good luck with a J also. I never dig my blind in. I have had more than one farmer ;;;;;;; about hitting holes from previous hunters digging down. I'm not good at calling but for some reason the birds still come in.

Fracman

Founding Member
Founding Member
Not to blow my own horn buy I am the best caller in my blind

Vollmer

Founder
Administrator
Anyone try the dohnut setup on calm days? Or just setup the U facing the direction they will be coming from?

Tikka280ai

Founding Member
Founding Member
generally do the U shape but on calm days I use a straight line with wings going down wind of the rest of the spread. Brush blinds good. Generally go to the field after dark and fill a decoy bag or 2 with stubble from the edges of the field so I don't have to take it from around the area on my decoys. Not the best caller in the world but good enough to get their attention and keep them committed most of the time.

Use the same setup for ducks but use robo ducks too.

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member