Layout Blind and Call Recommendations

bigsky2

I'm just getting into waterfowl hunting and I am looking to buy a layout blind. I was hoping I could get some recommendations on here. I want something that is fairly mobile and won't break the bank.

I was also wondering what are some good duck and goose calls for beginners. Thanks in advance for any info you guys can share.

Retired Educator

★★★★★ Legendary Member
As far as layout blinds I would recommend any blind that has NO PINS that need to be inserted in a small whole in the dark. I think mine is a Finisher and it basically folds up with some push-button slides and one cross-piece that needs to be inserted in to back end. Pretty simple to do in the dark once you've done it. Had a blind that required inserting pins and thankfully it finally wore out so I could juck it and get a better blind.

Also, lighter cover or color is best. It's way easier to make a blind darker than lighter in color. The lower in height the better as higher blinds do create shadows when it's sunny.

snow

Founding Member
Founding Member
In my old age I've resorted to stand up blinds,sold off my collection of layouts,really liked the final approach layout (finisher)as they have aluminum frames,waterproof,large pop up tent if needed for big boots late season,my XL was large enough for my big ass and my dog.

No issues with my stand-up blind these days plenty of shooting,nice comphy fold out chair,standing gun rack,webbing you can see through rather than peeking over the top spooking the decoying birds,don't miss my layouts at all,but if you gotta have one consider one with a alum frame rather than a fold-up frame less type on windy/rainy day's.

my .02