Flashers vs. Traditional Sonar?

Still_Learnin'

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm somewhat new to ice fishing as I've only been doing it for about 3 seasons now. I've noticed that nearly everyone has a flasher but hardly anyone uses a traditional sonar unit (like a small lowrance HDS unit or something older). I'm sure there is a reason but I have no clue as to why that is. Thoughts?

Sub_Elect

Founding Member
Founding Member
I would say it has to do with the refresh rate of the flasher vs. LCD displays. I took an LCD up to Winnipeg last year and did well with it. I think the flashers are also easier on batteries.

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
the last site sucked for loading videos. i never did get it figured out. but, this one is much easier... so, here ya go! its a few years old. i'm stacked on top of a crap load of perch when an eye comes in and they all scatter. you don't see the jig for a few seconds because i just drop it down about the same time i turn the graph on. but, you see the fish come off the bottom and react to it as i am dropping it. eventually, the jig is the little line up top (at about 24 ft) bouncing up and down. excuse the language at the end and the stupid drag. i was perch fishing and didn't expect to hook into a 20+ inch eye.

- - - Updated - - -

another one of my video masterpieces... lol.

Last edited:

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member