Spearing Lakes?

BotnoJoe

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm a new resident of ND and just moved to Bottineau. I'm wondering if there are any lakes with good visibility for spearing near Bottineau. I've heard Darling is good but want something closer. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

scrotcaster

Founding Member
Founding Member
Metigoshi, Long Lake, Pelican Lake, Carburry Dam, Gravel Lake.. Lots of options

Lycanthrope

Founding Member
Founding Member
Id like some tips on spearing lakes near Bismarck also if anyone has some hot tips! Biggest problem I have had is murky water. Tried a few lakes in the Steele/Napoleon area last winter with little success....

Reprobait

Founding Member
Founding Member
Id like some tips on spearing lakes near Bismarck also if anyone has some hot tips! Biggest problem I have had is murky water. Tried a few lakes in the Steele/Napoleon area last winter with little success....

I only speared it a couple of times but Horsehead has had pretty good clarity.

Sum1

Founding Member
Founding Member
Check that G&F book they put out. Some lakes are off limits to spearing. I believe the whole Mucklusky Canal is.

Does Horsehead lake still have a good population of pike? I remember at one time there were some biggies cruising them waters.

BBQBluesMan

Founding Member
Founding Member
New johns would be the cats ass for spearing if it were not for those damned pesky mushkies

lunkerslayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Lake Alice WMA is going to have so untapped snot rockets for sure make a trip, if it was up to me you could take 10 possession right away. Just kidding

jdinny

Founding Member
Founding Member
baumgartners near linton has a healthy populations, rice lake a little further south has a ton, alkaline has plenty during open water as well. not sure on the water clarity though.

Ericb

Founding Member
Founding Member