Complete novice to darkhouse spearfishing: tips, tricks?

Kraken

Founding Member
Founding Member
Got the gear and registered online with G&F. Have a lake with slough sharks picked out that's open, now what?

What kind of depths? Weedlines? What if waters a little murky? How active are you with the decoy? I've never gone ice fishing strictly for pike and didn't fish much this past fall on this body of water.

Not looking for something complete, just looking for pointers when I come back and read this. Thanks!

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
I like to do it shallow enough where you can see the bottom. Weed edges are perfect. Use the decoy just like you would a jig: try different things until you find out what works! It's not rocket surgery, but you'll get the hang of it. Sometimes just a decoy hanging there is enough to get something to come slithering in.

Account Deleted

Founding Member
Founding Member
Form is key:
spear-fish-jump-708x400.jpg

Lycanthrope

Founding Member
Founding Member
If you are serious about spearing, you might wanna drop the GF a note about their new 'proposed' regulations....

martinslanding

Founding Member
Founding Member
have the tines in the water when you throw...don't break the plane...it will greatly help with accuracy..and throwing is not quit accurate you should be dropping with force...

3Roosters

Founding Member
Founding Member
If you move your house and it has larger then a 10 inch hole you need to mark it so others are aware of a potential hazard. Good luck! Go get them sharks! Don't let go of your spear without a lanyard attached.

Kickemup

Founding Member
Founding Member
Be quiet u will see alot more fish I've always like 6 to 8 feet deep. Decoy mover depends on activity of fish I like to put down 2 decoys and only jig one of them. I've noticed that if the fish are active they will chase the moving one if not. They will come in and bump the still one.

Coyote Hunter

Founding Member
Founding Member