best wheel house for the money?

Colonel Angus

Founding Member
Founding Member
My dad is getting up there in age and just bought a lake place. He wants to do some ice fishing, but there is no way he would be a portable guy. I have no experience what so ever with wheel houses and figured maybe some of you would. He would probably want a shack to fit 4 people, so maybe 8x14 or 16. Not sure about the budget, but biggest bang for the buck is probably what he would look for. Any big pitfalls for used vs. new?

Jigaman

Founding Member
Founding Member
So he lives on the lake he would primarily fish? In that case, I would be looking at a skid house like an alumalite http://www.soderbloom.com/Alumalitefishhouse.html

Here is another one that looks interesting but I dont think they have a website yet https://minneapolis.craigslist.org/wsh/sgd/5361122711.html

I know Mission (aluminum trailer company) also makes skid houses too. They sell them in EGF.

For wheel houses, ice castle are by far the most popular but the quality is lacking IMO. Check out Yeti

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
if you really want to fish, i would stay away from the ice castles too. and a few of the look alikes. get some kind of all aluminum shell on skids or wheels with spray foam and a non forced air furnace. you can then throw a things like bunks, shelves, cupboards, stove, etc... in in to fit your needs.

Colonel Angus

Founding Member
Founding Member
The lake he is on isn't that great for fishing, even though I'm sure he would give it a try. He is only a few miles from some pretty good lakes though. Also, I might have to borrow this shack to make sure it's working ok :;:exactly

MarbleEyez

Founding Member
Founding Member