Canned northern pike... with a kick!

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
20160118_190541.jpg

The ingredients.

20160118_191549.jpg

Half pint jars. 1 tsp on bottom. Stuff jars leaving a bit of head space. 1 tsp on top. Did 4 with siracha and 2 with garlic chili paste. I've never used chili paste before. But, figured wtf. Normally, I just use 1 tsp on the top. But, I've decided it needs a bit more kick since nobody else in my house eats it anyway.

20160118_194547.jpg

Lids on fingertip tight and into the canner with 3 quarts of water and 2 tbsp vinegar to prevent the outside of the jars from staining. 100 minutes at 11 pounds.

20160119_081626.jpg

Before they are completely cooled, I turn/flip them a few times to mix up the siracha a bit as it doesn't get too mixed in the canning process. Finished product.

20160119_121424.jpg

Lunch in a jar. Thanks for looking (copyright owens bbq).

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
we catch a lot of pike in the permanent and refuse to throw any back. normally, i clean them at the house, rinse in a bucket of ice cold lake water and put them in a bag to be eaten that day or within a day or two at the house. if they don't get eaten right away, they end up in canning or pickling jars. freshly cleaned and rinsed winter pike is great table fare. i think the smoker might get put to use eventually this winter.

eklindworth

Founding Member
Founding Member
When I pickle pike, I don't de-bone as the pickling solution takes care of them. Do you need to de-bone for this process? I would like to try this with some pike I have in the freezer but it still has bones.

Thanks

ek

Brian Renville

Founding Member
Founding Member
When I pickle pike, I don't de-bone as the pickling solution takes care of them. Do you need to de-bone for this process? I would like to try this with some pike I have in the freezer but it still has bones.

Thanks

ek

the pressure cooker takes care of the bones.

espringers

Founding Member