Bismarck river help

Nathan Hafdahl

Founding Member
Founding Member
I work as a traveling sales rep and I'm hoping to find a couple of decent spots on the river in Bismarck to fish from shore. I don't need your secret spot, but if anyone can direct me to a couple solid spots to kill time in the evening I would be forever grateful. Thanks.

Enslow

Founding Member
Founding Member
Cast right off the docks at the boat ramps.

dean nelson

Founding Member
Founding Member
The sandbar south of the condo unit south of the main street bridge can be decent. Just stay off the condos grass or they will get pissy. Down at the Fox ramp can be decent as well.

Trip McNeely

Founding Member
Founding Member
I've had decent luck south of town by the rifle range. right south of the ramp there is an eddy and a decent hole. a lot of people fish it but its been good. good for catfish mid-summer too. caught a ling down there two summers ago.

dean nelson

Founding Member
Founding Member
I've had decent luck south of town by the rifle range. right south of the ramp there is an eddy and a decent hole. a lot of people fish it but its been good. good for catfish mid-summer too. caught a ling down there two summers ago.
There's also a nice breakline just north of the ramp about 20 yards past where the fence starts. Never tried it deep but it's a great spot for top water walleyes in the summer so would have to think they may be in there now just out further.

Trip McNeely

Founding Member
Founding Member
yeah it gets pretty deep to the north. I have crappy electronics but my depth finder was reading 34-37ft in some spots near the pilings. we caught a few sauger in that hole but it was north of the parking lot and this was out of a boat.

- - - Updated - - -