Arrow Recommendations

Bed Wetter

Founding Member
Founding Member
My arrows are going to be LOOOOOONG (31") so I'll need a stiff spine. Although I'm the epitome of the male physique, I'm not pulling more than 70#. I won't be penetrating anything larger than a deer. So, I'm thinking stiff, straight, and on the light side, maybe some type of Gold Tip. Enlighten me.

Founding Member
Founding Member
Any arrow with a .300 spine should work well.

H82bogey

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have been shooting the maxima red's for two years now. You know, the ones advertised on the outdoor channel as "game changers". Anyway, I had been shooting gold tips before and now that I made the switch I love them. Great all around arrow. They fly awesome with field tips, and I shoot them for 3D events, put a broad head, fixed or mechanical on them and they fly the same. They are also very durable. In two years I haven't had an arrow break, and that includes pass through on deer smacking the ground and a couple complete misses that hit the ground pretty hard. I would give them a series consideration. Just make sure you don't buy them straight out of the box. Those have the straight fletch on them, order the shafts bare and get a helical fletch.

PrairieGhost

Founding Member
Founding Member
I shoot Maxima also. I don't shoot the Red, but rather the camo. I really don't think there is any difference. I notice when I hit the leg in my 3D target with a 50# longbow the head will push back and split the shaft in my Gold Tip. I seldom miss that bad with the compound, but it has happened and although the arrow is much faster the Maxima do not split. I hate the price so I also shoot a lot of 400 Beeman Hunters. They split, but they are about half the price. Just like with the aluminum I always said if you loose a lot of arrow shoot cheap arrow, but if you damage a lot of arrow shoot the more expensive.

ndbwhunter

Founding Member
Founding Member