Trailer Lights Issue

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
So, I have a few lights out on the trailer but they're just side marker lights. Not real worried about it as I will get to them this winter. Tail lights and reverse lights work. I took for granted that brake lights and turn signal lights were working. Well, they aren't. I took a peek at my pins coming from the trailer. It looks like one got dragged on some pavement at one point and I suspect it's not making contact anymore. In my search for a 7 wire to 5 pin connector, I'm coming up empty handed. Can any of you electrical guru's point me in the direction of how to tie a 5 pin connector?

Here's a picture of what I'm working with.
IMG_2863.jpg

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm no electrician, but I'd go white-to-white, black-to-black, black-to-black, yellow-to-yellow, green-to-green, red-to-red and red-to-red. See how that works.

Uh, and you might have to troubleshoot the blacks and reds. Those look tricky.

:::

Last edited:

Tikka280ai

Founding Member
Founding Member
Go buy a 7 pin connector at a auto parts store. They come with a diagram of what color where and makes the plug more resistant to damage. Also eliminates the need for an adapter

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200127974_200127974

something like this. I have converted all of my 4 and 5 blade plugs to one of these so im not constantly chasing adapters around

faq043-trailer7waydia-ver2_2_800.jpg

this should get you close. i would still use a test light to check what function each pin performs

Last edited:

wildeyes

Founding Member
Founding Member
use a test light and find out what the plugin off the truck controls on the trailer then wire the plugin the same. make sure you have a good ground. when you wire a new one in soldier the wires and use shrink wrap.

Jigaman

Founding Member
Founding Member
There is nothing in this world that frustrates me more than trailer lights and small gas engines.