Shore fishing the Red River

Davey Crockett

Founding Member
Founding Member
Going to try shore fishing on the red for the first time in many years so brushing up on what I need to know. There are a lot of species that I have zero knowledge of, Are any of them good table fare besides the Cats and walleyes ? Save a goldeye for bait and release the rest ? Are there any fish that you can't keep ? Seems to me there were but I don't see it in the proclamation. Is there a small Mom and Pops bait shop around Fargo ?

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
Most of the fish I caught were walleyes, northerns, drum, mooneye, or catfish. Some suckers depending on the bait you use and the occasional sauger/saugeye, but those were the mainstays. IMO, the walleyes, northerns, catfish, and drum are fit for consumption. Suckers in the spring are good as well, but we are nearing the end of that window as we speak. As far as locations, I've seen several new rip rap areas along bike paths that looked very promising for a shore bound angler and the local dams are always an option. A half a crawler on the bottom with a 12 inch leader behind a 1/2 - 2 oz no roll sinker was my rig of choice on one rod and a jig on the other. Make sure you have a very strong rod holder for your dead stick as a 20+ lb catfish will rip a rod sitting on a Y stick right into the water faster than you can say "AH SHEIZA!!" If you want cut bait, it's pretty hard to beat goldeye or mooneye for that. Use a 1 X 2 inch chunk and you should be into the catfish. Can't help with the bait shops in Fargo as too much has changed since I lived there. Sorry. Good Luck!!!

CatDaddy

Founding Member
Founding Member
What KDM said on river table fare, as well as technique. I found bells help because my attention span wanders while on shore.....