Leaders for LeadCore

FishReaper

Founding Member
Founding Member
What do you guys use for leadcore leaders and how long do you go? I was looking at running 10 feet of either fluorocarbon or fireline. and what knot to use, I used willis knot from backer to leadcore but looking at the knot it just doesnt seem very strong, good chance im wrong on that.
This is my first year hitting the crank bait box hard so i might be asking a few questions on this subject this year. so far ive really enjoyed running cranks on my powerpro poles, My wife hates every time we go to any store i leave with a few more flicker shads, she thought she would get away with it at menards, they sell flickers too. this is addicting
Thanks in advance

huffranger

Founding Member
Founding Member
I run 30' of 12# big game. 30' makes sure there is a little stretch in the line and when you are at the boat with the fish you should have 20' of mono on the reel.

im currently using a small ant swivel between my leader and leadcore, but I'm trying to get better at using the knot where you strip 6" of lead out of the Dacron then tie an overhand knot. Then you insert the mono leader inside the Dacron about an inch and a half. To finish you roll the overhand knot down so the knot tightens up within the threaded section.

Alberto knot ??

I have seen guys use fireline also, you tie an overhand knot in you Dacron then tie a palamar knot with the fireline and snug it down above the knot in your Dacron. Trim close and catch fish ( also 30' length )

most at small cranks dive 5' with 30' line out so your math can be close too.

FishReaper

Founding Member
Founding Member
how does big game hold up to pike teeth? i do most of my fishing in areas with alot of tooth critters, Or when Im in pike heavy areas i guess a 6 inch steel leader could help cut down on lost baits

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member