Any Good outboar mechanics in Minot?

E-Tech

I am having issues with my 1989 75hp Mariner. I have a feeling it may be beyond my abilities to diagnose/fix as I am new to 2 stroke motors.

I will probably end up having a mechanic take a look so I can get back to fishing before the cold weather hits!

Any info on Minot outboard mechanics would be appreciated.

FishReaper

Founding Member
Founding Member
I always took my old 2 stroke to Carey at 6 mile down by Garrison. He does good work

E-Tech

It has run fine the last 2 months. Then on my last trip it was hard to start at the dock and smoked a little.
If I choke and run at fast idle it runs but when you try to put it in gear it dies.

If I work quickly I can put it in gear and give it gas to keep it running. Once in gear with a little gas it will run fine. It gets up on plane and will achieve my normal max speed.

I watched the carbs while pumping the primer bulb. Right before it gets hard gas comes out the throat of the bottom carb. I dropped the float bowl on that carb, held the float up with my finger and pumped the bulb. No fuel comes out in the float bowl area but after a while it starts coming out of the carb throat again.

I also noticed the fuel drains out of the filter fairly quickly so I probably need to replace the primer bulb also.

E-Tech

Thanks eyexer.
Guess its time to see what a mechanic costs compared to carb rebuild kits.
I will have to get a manual and see if I think I can handle messing with the carbs. I'm an electronics guy, not much for mechanic work!

tikkalover

Founding Member
Founding Member
North Country Marine in Garrison. Only place I have taken my boat! They are busy though as are most places, expect to not use it for awhile.

all4eyes

Founding Member
Founding Member
Jeff at jeffs sport shop in Minot or sports specialities.

onpoint!

Established Member