From the Smoker!!!!

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
Had a goose, a chicken, and some turkeys in the freezer that I've been promising to run through the smoker for a couple months now and finally got to'em. Soaked them in kosher salt, apple cider, brown sugar, onions, garlic, and black pepper for 12 hours in the fridge and added a heavy smoke for almost 4 hours at 180 to 200 ish degrees in the smoker with apple wood. I used some bacon to cover the open spots in some of the skins which ended up being a pretty good idea. They all turned out moist and very flavorful. Might have to pluck a few more geese and turkeys as THIS is a fantastic way to prepare these wild critters!! Enjoy!!

Before the Smoker:

DSC07473.jpg

After the Smoker:

DSC07474.jpg

Petras

Founding Member
Founding Member
That doesn't look edible at all. You should send them all up to me and I will properly dispose of them for you.

NodakBuckeye

Founding Member
Founding Member
Nice! I would like to have a mechanical plucker, worth the effort to pluck and leave whole or quarter. I smoked some mallards a few weeks ago, lower temps and more for flavoring. I breast them and sear in a skillet so I can eat them medium rare.

20161122_192536.jpg

18240.jpg

Last edited:

ItemB

Founding Member
Founding Member
Is there any tricks to plucking a bird by hand? What is the best technique? Be patient and just start pulling feathers?

Them birds look to good will need to try this

NodakBuckeye

Founding Member
Founding Member
That is pretty slick, no pun intended. I always pluck a few birds when I have time and they are not shot up to bad. If you dove hunt, take a few minutes and pluck a half dozen for the grill, not a huge deal after you have done a few and worth the effort. On another topic, save hearts.... trim, skewer and grill medium rare. Just about anything except divers and spoonies

- - - Updated - - -