Ndtrax

dukgnfsn

Founding Member
Founding Member
I just got a email from NDTRAX that TRAX it will no longer be supported for Garmin GPS. They suggest ONX maps as a replacement. Do any of you use ONX and if so does it have the lake contours like TRAX did. Also what are your opinions of ONX, is it worth the money??

dakotaeye29

Founding Member
Founding Member
Worth the money, can't speak for the lake contours. But the topo maps, surface ownership and tools in the app all on a phone is really handy.

zoops

Founding Member
Founding Member
I am no expert with OnX, but when I open it I don't see an option for lake contours. I believe there are several options though. One to check out would be the G&F website; I believe you can download lake maps amongst other things to load onto a Garmin (never done it myself though). https://gf.nd.gov/maps/gps

You could also download the G&F 'Explorer' app https://gf.nd.gov/maps/mobile-apps onto your phone and get most of that data but probably wouldn't be viewable on your Garmin. There are some apps like Navionics that allow you to do that too.

Is the TRAX guy basically out of business then? I bought a chip from him back in like 2013 for my Lowrance handheld GPS and it was awesome (still use it), but I think he quit making products for Lowrances that year or the year after.

dukgnfsn

Founding Member
Founding Member
here is the info from the email I got. not sure if they are out of business but they will no longer support a Garmin GPS
[h=3]KOREY KIRSCHENMANN[/h]
3:09 PM (35 minutes ago)

cleardot.gif

cleardot.gif
to KOREY
cleardot.gif

Sorry for sending what appears to be a duplicate email. However, the phone number for onXmaps and their support hours have been modified. 406-540-1600 on M-F from 9AM-4PM MST