Tarpon, anyone?

Allen

Founding Member
Founding Member
So I've booked a trip to go fishing with my cousin for tarpon.

I've never tried these before, while I've been studying, I'm not sure I've got the jiggle down.
https://www.bing.com/videos/search?...5DCADD38887FB25BF8255DCADD38887FB25&FORM=VIRE

How many of you guys have gone after tarpon, and got any words of wisdom?

It'll be a guided trip, but I figure it can't hurt to ask what I've gotten myself into from those on here who have done it.

Twitch

Founding Member
Founding Member
I’ve been on one guided tarpon trip. We fished live bait. Crabs and mullet. It was a blast and is addictive. Don’t have a lot of useful tips because I hooked up but wasn’t able to battle it in. I’ll be making another attempt in April of 2019 and can’t wait. Enjoy it

Captain Ahab

Founding Member
Founding Member
I was WAY undergunned when I ran into them(unexpected). I was trying to land 50lbers with walleye style gear and 15 pound test. Also, my hooks were not the ultra strong saltwater hooks. I think the best way to hook them well is with live bait and circle hooks as they really can only be hooked well in each corner of the mouth and a small circle in the center of the front roof of the mouth. I had the best luck getting strikes from a big Rapala Husky Jerk, but it was hard to stay hooked up. I even hooked one on a Jigging Rap, but I knew that wasn't going to hold after the first 6 foot jump. Ha ha.

It's also recommended to "Bow to the Silver King" meaning give them some slack when they jump. Just the opposite of what a guy instinctively does.

I was booked to go back to the same resort this winter, but Irma wiped it out. I was sad in the face knowing I couldn't hit the tarpon every night before I went to bed. Maybe next year...

Allen

Founding Member
Founding Member