Basement Plumbing

ndbwhunter

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm preparing to finish off the basement bathroom rough-in, and was planning on running viega pex. The viega press tool sells for roughly $175 and I really don't want to buy one for one-time use.

Do you guys have any other suggestions on which style of pex to run (crimp vs. press vs. expansion)? I know the tools aren't cheap for any of them, but I could borrow the crimp tools. Also, I'm not really keen on using the off brand stuff from the big box stores, so can anyone recommend a brand that you've had good luck with from the supply houses?

I'm fairly new to plumbing, so I'm just looking for advice on which direction to take. It's a fairly small job, and I really don't want to pay $1,000+ to have a contractor come do it.

ORCUS DEMENS

Founding Member
Founding Member