Pheasant Opener

BP338

Founding Member
Founding Member
Not that ya'll need reminded about opening day this weekend...I still figured I'd post about it.

I'm taking my oldest boy and my buddies oldest boy. Taking the dog too for the first time!

I have little to no experience with pheasants (and bird dogs for that matter:confused:). Is this weather going to mess things up? or is it still worth the hour drive that I have planned for Saturday morning?

GOOD LUCK!!

Weekender

★★★ Legendary Member
The weather isn't looking promising for getting out on Saturday, but I am hoping to shoot some birds Sunday if the weather is decent. See if my "bird dog" still knows how to get it done.
IMG_1765.jpg

Kurtr

Founding Member
Founding Member
snow and wind will make them hold in my experience. Dog will like it alot better when it is colder than hotter. Dont have lots of days off so i dont let the weather dictate if i go or not.

luvcatchingbass

Founding Member
Founding Member
Will see what Saturday looks like here maybe Sunday afternoon can get out. My lab is getting itchy and she doesn't do will with warm weather anyways, going to wait a little while to take the Shorthair I got from EricB beings I am in the process of gun training after a mistake I made a month ago but at least things are going well with that.
My guess is birds will be holding tight so that might work in my labs favor if I choose good spots to try.

FishFinder97

★ Legendary Member
Things look just like last year. Wet, standing crops, wind and cold. Depending on snowfall it's going to be almost impossible to get around in some parts of the state. Birds should be holding very tight, I think focusing on cover will be the ticket.

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
Monday -- it will dry out and the wind will go down -- much better day --- you will see birds come out

Wind = runners or Wind = breast meat shot up --- its one of the two depending

Snow and Rain and Wind = sit in the bar and brag

Kurtr