Retirement Opportunity

Skullet

Established Member
Forgive the CPA thinking, but this might just be the opportunity of all opportunities to do a Roth conversion. Our current tax rates coupled with the recent slump in stocks give us all a chance to do something which benefits us in the years to come.

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
Cdc 8 weeks. Nothing will be left Roth loss we all know what good that will be. The only thing to trade will be lead and gunpowder

3geese4me

Honored Member
Forgive the CPA thinking, but this might just be the opportunity of all opportunities to do a Roth conversion. Our current tax rates coupled with the recent slump in stocks give us all a chance to do something which benefits us in the years to come.

I have an accounting degree and have the same thought process. I've been telling my co-workers (electricians) that now is the time to make moves. They think I'm crazy, however.

Bed Wetter

Founding Member
Founding Member
You think its bottomed out?
If you believe the Dow Jones Indistrial Average will eventually get back to 29,000 and you invest in low-cost Fidelity and Vanguard index funds, everything you buy now will become more valuable. If you wait too long hoping to catch the bottom, you might miss the wave. It’s already at 19,000. Just start buying now.

Last edited:

db-2

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Based on my projected income in retirement in 2020 (SS, plan I earned in SE Asia by artillery, and some interest) I will pay little federal income tax versus a bunch in 2019. Do my own taxes and got 2019 done yesterday and based on what I now know I will have less than $1,000 in federal tax in 2020 (would of been zero if not for Al Gore). In fact I might have earned income credit. Next year my state tax should be about zero by taking SS out versus $1,767 in 2019.