Home/Shop must haves

Miller Time

I think there was a similar thread on her before but I am having trouble finding it. I am in the market to build a new home. My plan now is to build a "Shouse" or a shop with a living quarters attached. I am thinking 1400 sq' living area (3 bed 2 bath) and a 50x70 shop. I have never built a home before and am only 24 years old so I have limited experience on what to add in the home and shop. At this point I am just looking for advice on what people wish they had done different when they built their home or shop area. The shop would be all heated and mainly used to store toys with a bar area and room to work on whatever project I have at the time. Thanks in advance!

wjschmaltz

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Are you married or ever plan to be married? And kids? My life now is inconceivable compared to the path I was on only 9 years ago at your age. Greatest decision I ever made was not jumping all in on a “forever home” that would tie me down. That and it takes about 2 years of marriage before you know how far away from your mother in law you want to be.

As far as your question, add at least 33% sf to whatever size shop you think you need. Tall sinks/countertops - I’m 6’2” and my back hurts every night at my deep sink. Make your countertops as tall as possible that’s comfortable for your wife and do a small section a foot or so lower because toddlers/kids love to help. Make the spaces for appliance LARGE. I wish my fridge, oven, and dishwasher were at least twice the size. I would do away with 75% of my cupboards and have a very large walk in pantry.

Last edited:

zoops

Founding Member
Founding Member