Ford guys - Cam phaser project

Mort

Founding Member
Founding Member
Thought I'd share my experience, to those that care or are having the same issues. I've had this truck since '12. This has been my major issue since I've had it.

Me and a friend that used to work at the dealership back in the late 90's did all the work. Out of curiousity, I sought out estimates and was giving at least a $2,500 price tag to have it done. I roughly saved over a $1,000 doing it myself with help. Of course, I had to do this thing in July with the humidty we had and it was bugger, not gonna lie. So if you're not the type of guy that likes to do mechanical shit this in depth, I advice to bite the bullet and take it to a shop, otherwise, have at it and take your time. We did this job over a course of 3 days, just working a few hours each day as it would allow us.

I know alot of you are not fortunate to have a shop and tools at your disposal or not being around doing mechanical stuff as you grew up, I was fortunate, plus being the racer I am, had to tackle the job.

I first was going to just replace the cam phasers, once we got the valve covers off, one trick is to see how the timing chains are is to trying and pick them off the gear, if you can move them at least 1/4" off or so, you better replace them .My right side was pretty bad. Once I got the front cover off, we discovered the chain rail was all busted to pieces inside , when you take the cover off you will expose part of the oil pan, buddy reach down in oil pan and removed a couple of more broken plastic rail.

Attached are videos for audio purposes to hear the difference it makes

More pics of the tear down

IMG_0829.jpg IMG_0828.jpg

Last edited:

WormWiggler

Founding Member
Founding Member