Nonresident Montana Elk/Deer licenses may go to outfitters?

badlands13

Established Member

Wags2.0

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Being out of state, and having hunted Montana a couple times this really sucks. If i was a resident of Montana im not sure how'd id feel.

Fly Carpin

Founding Member
Founding Member
There's a growing coalition of rational hunters out here that are loudly voicing their opposition (myself included). It will likely go through many, many rewrites, but as it's written right now, if you don't want to hire an outfitter or if you don't have a landowner sponsor when you apply, you're pretty well screwed. It's a bill written to force nonresidents to hire an outfitter or pay a landowner to hunt elk and deer.

Here's a link to the bill language.
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2021/billpdf/SB0143.pdf

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
IIRC, it used to be about a 60/40 split with 60% of the NR combo tags going into the lottery and 40% going to the outfitters. RESIDENT hunters opposed this basically because with guaranteed tags some outfitters were using deposit $$ to lease more land taking away opportunity from DIY hunters.

2011, MT went to virtually 100% of the combo tags go into the lottery (very small number for landowner sponsored tags and former residents with resident family to come home to hunt). The guaranteed outfitter tags sold at a premium vs. lottery tags. The price for the lottery tags went up to offset the premium that the outfitter tags used to generate. Again, this elimination of guaranteed outfitter tags was driven by resident hunters. I seriously doubt that the resident hunters will allow guaranteed outfitter tags to return anytime soon.

8andcounting

Founding Member
Founding Member