Electric trolling motors

Kentucky Windage

Founding Member
Founding Member
It’s time for me to upgrade. I made the switch to Garmin last year. Garmin has their force trolling motor. I’m wondering if any of you have one and what your thoughts are on it? Also, what other brands should I consider that will be friendly with Garmin. Thanks

ndfinfan

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Not sure about compatibility with Garmin, but I've been using the Motorguide Xi5 for 3 years...great unit. The transducer in the head unit is compatible with my Lowrance unit...no adapter required. I would guess if you go with a Motorguide or Minn Kota trolling motor, you'll need the adapter for your Garmin unit to read data from the transducer.

Retired RR

Kind of a racket in my mind that such and such goes with such and such. Running Minnkota and needing to upgrade electronics also.

shorthairman

★★★★★ Legendary Member
I am pretty sure I read somewhere that you will have to go with the garmin force in order for it to be compatible without having to mount a separate transducer say you go with minnkota or motorguide.

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
Kind of a racket in my mind that such and such goes with such and such. Running Minnkota and needing to upgrade electronics also.

GPS tech has been that way since it's inception. Magellan doesn't speak to Garmin and vice-versa. Lowrance had the market CORNERED for 5-7yrs regarding "chips" and individual lake maps until everyone else saw the value, at that point everyone had to start choosing sides. Then of course the advancement has gone further by incorporating the GPS communication into the bow-mount. Remember when a puck and a hose clamp was top-tier technology?

Last edited:

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
I would get one that can follow the contour of the very accurate contour map, and map chip of the lakes you fish.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member