User Tag List

  • Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrassed
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Grumpy
  • Happy
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Sad
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • WTF!?
  • zzz
  • Results 1 to 14 of 14
    1. Back To Top    #1
      Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      12
      NDA Points
      2,537
      NDA Level
      20
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 5
      Given: 0

      HDS 8 Gen II problem, please help!

      I cant figure out how to get rid of this green bar on the top of my sonar. I checked the transducer to make sure it was selected. Fishing mode I am in shallow water. It is on Auto Sensitivity. Noise rejection low, Surface Clarity on High. I cant figure it out. Last year it was fine, this year I get this. Please help if you can.
      Attached Images Attached Images  

      0 Not allowed!

    2. Back To Top    #2
      Premium Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      risingsun's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      600
      NDA Points
      10,743
      NDA Level
      44
      Report Entries
      3
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 704
      Given: 1,545
      I am assuming since you have a gen 2, does it do the same thing on downscan or just on 2d sonar? Have you split screen the 2d sonar/ downscan together? If so does the whole screen do it or just one side? I would try moving your pages around to see if it changes anything. That should be a starting point to try and eliminate causes. Hopefully screen/head is not messed up and it's just a setting.

      0 Not allowed!
      Last edited by risingsun; 06-16-2021 at 07:53 AM.

    3. Back To Top    #3
      Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      12
      NDA Points
      2,537
      NDA Level
      20
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 5
      Given: 0
      I have tried that, and it does not make a difference.

      0 Not allowed!

    4. Back To Top    #4
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      guywhofishes's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Faaargo, ND
      Posts
      12,446
      NDA Points
      409,401
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      2
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 18,763
      Given: 16,435
      what's with the 70 and 80 degree labels at upper left?

      are you somehow overlaying the temperature vs time/distance in some sort of hybrid display with sonar?

      Is this an "on the water" photo?

      - - - Updated - - -

      did you maybe pick a goofy color palette?

      1 Not allowed!
      If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles.
      ~Doug Larson

    5. Back To Top    #5
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      Awesome
       
      Captain Ahab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Timbuktu
      Posts
      4,906
      NDA Points
      167,268
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      7
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 7,770
      Given: 3,580
      You are either in the wrong sonar setup or your transducer is going bad. What transducer are you using? It looks more like sonar setup, but it’s hard to tell without being there.

      0 Not allowed!

    6. Back To Top    #6
      Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      12
      NDA Points
      2,537
      NDA Level
      20
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 5
      Given: 0
      The tag on the transducer is a HST/WSBL. Thats what is selected on the installation part. This picture is in my garage, but it is exactly what it shows on the water as well.

      0 Not allowed!

    7. Back To Top    #7
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      guywhofishes's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Faaargo, ND
      Posts
      12,446
      NDA Points
      409,401
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      2
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 18,763
      Given: 16,435
      what city you in

      0 Not allowed!
      If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles.
      ~Doug Larson

    8. Back To Top    #8
      Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      12
      NDA Points
      2,537
      NDA Level
      20
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 5
      Given: 0
      I am in Minot

      0 Not allowed!

    9. Back To Top    #9
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      guywhofishes's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Faaargo, ND
      Posts
      12,446
      NDA Points
      409,401
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      2
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 18,763
      Given: 16,435
      got another transducer to try temporarily?

      0 Not allowed!
      If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be a shortage of fishing poles.
      ~Doug Larson

    10. Back To Top    #10
      Premium Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2016
      Posts
      421
      NDA Points
      8,833
      NDA Level
      40
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 473
      Given: 247
      I'd try a factory reset on the unit. atleast you'd be able to rule out a setting issue.

      0 Not allowed!

    11. Back To Top    #11
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      Awesome
       
      Captain Ahab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Timbuktu
      Posts
      4,906
      NDA Points
      167,268
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      7
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 7,770
      Given: 3,580
      Quote Originally Posted by SLE View Post
      I'd try a factory reset on the unit. atleast you'd be able to rule out a setting issue.
      Agreed, but make sure it’s a “SOFT” reset or you will lose your waypoints.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Feb 23, 2011 #2
      HDS 8 soft reset

      To do a soft reset, start with the unit off. Press and hold down the pages button and push the power key. Keep holding down the pages button until the map of the U.S. shows up and it's done. This reset will not erase any waypoints or trails you have saved.

      0 Not allowed!

    12. Back To Top    #12
      Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      12
      NDA Points
      2,537
      NDA Level
      20
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 5
      Given: 0
      Thanks guys, that's what I was leaning to, and seems like sound advice! Everything that I have read says your surface clarity and noise rejection should be on low or off. If I have my surface clarity on low, the whole screen is green. If it is on high, than you see what is on screen as attached above.

      0 Not allowed!

    13. Back To Top    #13
      Ultimate VIP Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      MuskyManiac's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      Grand Forks, ND
      Posts
      1,609
      NDA Points
      295,142
      NDA Level
      100
      Report Entries
      7
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 3,605
      Given: 1,139
      I'm leaning towards a bad transducer.

      0 Not allowed!

    14. Back To Top    #14
      Premium Member
      No Current Status
       
      Mood:
      ----
       
      risingsun's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      600
      NDA Points
      10,743
      NDA Level
      44
      Report Entries
      3
      Thumbs Up
      Received: 704
      Given: 1,545
      Quote Originally Posted by Tomsky View Post
      Thanks guys, that's what I was leaning to, and seems like sound advice! Everything that I have read says your surface clarity and noise rejection should be on low or off. If I have my surface clarity on low, the whole screen is green. If it is on high, than you see what is on screen as attached above.
      I sent you a PM

      0 Not allowed!

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  


    About Nodak Angler

      NodakAngler is a community of outdoors enthusiasts. Our primary focus is to provide a great place for North Dakota sportsmen to gather, discuss, and participate. All are welcome.

    Business & Contact

    Follow us on

    Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube