Buying a boat.

Deeky

Hi, recently bought a boat (private party). I’m a ND resident, and intend to primarily use it in MN. The previous owner was a MN resident. He had it registered up to the end of the year. Do I need to do anything or wait until it expires? Should I be registering it in ND? If I occasionally use it in ND does it need to be registered in ND as well? Will sales tax apply? If so, how & where do I go to pay for that? TIA

Founding Member
Founding Member
Register it in ND.
You bought it from a private party so no sales tax!

Deeky

Thanks. No need for any MN registration is used on MN lakes?

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
Mn if it is staying on a lift

Yep, if you're putting on a lift for the majority of the summer in MN, you'd best have MN registration. Yes, MN DNR will look under your awning/lift-cover.

Kentucky Windage

Founding Member
Founding Member
I’m not 100% sure, but I believe you may have a boat on a lift in MN for up to 30 days before it must be removed or registered in MN. I’ve heard of the DNR dropping warnings/tickets on watercraft with expired tags or prolonged stays on lakes. It’s actually stupidly impressive how they go through the work of targeting people that way. It’s MN though, so it makes sense.

DakotaGreg

Established Member
Try not to give MN a dime if you can help it. Order following redcoats and traitors.

Migrator Man

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Looking to buy a new boat ,Alumacraft Dominator 175 Sport with a 125 Merc Optimax and a 9.9 pro kicker all for a decent price.

Only issue is the boat has sat for 3 years with old fuel that has been stabilized. The boat was winterized before it sat for 3 years. All the batteries are dead from not being maintained and were all new. The boat is in near perfect condition and barely looks used. Any big things I should look for? Any issues common from sitting so long?

701FishSlayer

Founding Member
Founding Member