How many men still know how to butcher???

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
In the last few years dealing with youngsters and hunting in MN, I've come to realize that VERY FEW of those that deer hunt know how to skin and butcher a deer, let alone a cow, hog, or other big critter. Most seem to take their deer to a locker to be processed. Many know how to breast out a bird, but when it comes to skinning the whole bird, the number that know how to do that drops quickly. Is the knowledge of how to butcher critters becoming a lost art??

BP338

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm not great at it, but I do all my own processing. I'm still learning though. It's a good time to do it with the family.

Lycanthrope

Founding Member
Founding Member
I dont know if id qualify as a 'butcher', but I can get most of the meat off a carcass in a reasonable amount of time. Skinning is more of a PITA than removing the meat IMO....

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
I still do it all. I started early - skinning and drying mouse hides in our fort. Little tiny miniatures of deer hides on the walls. Ha ha.

I often deer hunt alone. Dealing with deer alone is an interesting activity.

Super rewarding somehow. Boy does a guy want a toddy when that's over.

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
Butchering has changed. Now instead of meat, people butcher spelling and sentence/paragraph structure.

Shockwave

Founding Member
Founding Member
We still do our own. We have even started buying a whole hog every year instead of buying pork butts. We keep what we need for sausage and then have ribs, loins, chops and make bacon.

snow1

★★★★★ Legendary Member