hunting ethics

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
So on the Facebook there's a page that features lots of big antler pics from ND

A regional youtuber posted a moose hunt video.

In the video he shoots a moose in what appears to be an illegal fashion.

Then they spend a loooong time filming other bull meese who ran over to look at their fallen arch nemesis... and otherwise getting ready to go inspect the "dead" moose.

They approach the moose... and it's still heaving for breath. They discuss if approaching it is dangerous or not, and otherwise proceed to stand around and yuck it up about how thrilling the whole thing was - and wait for this moose to expire naturally. They do nothing to dispatch the dying moose.

I felt pretty sick about that and I made a remark on FB about that crap never happening on an animal of mine, and my comment was "canceled" by the FB page's administrator.

Anyway - thought I'd ask you all - because frankly I am not an expert at big game or ethics for that matter.

Is it not normally a major priority that one dispatches a dying animal as quickly as possible?

Is there any logical reason I can't think of that they didn't want to place a kill shot on an animal that had been laying there dying for a long time and still hadn't?

- - - Updated - - -

to be honest, they maybe did kill it after a while?

but after seeing the thing heaving for breath a number of times I had to stop watching - it somehow got to me

Skeeter

Founding Member
Founding Member
Hunting is no longer respectful or ethical like in the old days. I was taught to get as close as possible and make a clean shot. If any doubt don’t do it. Now it’s about getting the best video, or the most views, or the longest shot. When hunting videos became popular, and Ytube took over, that was the start of the downfall of hunting.

scrotcaster

Founding Member
Founding Member