Ice Conditions February Weather

BP338

Founding Member
Founding Member
What are ya'lls thoughts on this weather and the rest of the ice fishing season. Usually February weather is cold, but I'm seeing 40's a lot more than I'd like.

It's my first year with an ice castle, so I'm gunna be bummed if I have to pull out too early. Nobody likes that...

NDbowman

Founding Member
Founding Member
Long time to fish yet, it'll get cold again. I haven't even been out fishing yet, too damn busy pushing snow everyday.

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
Other than this blip today, it's going to get subzero again in a hurry and then we're not supposed to get above freezing for the next 10 days.

You'll be fine.

wslayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Little surface melt, not doing any damage to the strength of it. Fish on . . .

Kurtr

Founding Member
Founding Member
Down here on oahe the shore is going fast but we were in the 60's and 58 with rain today. One day of cold and then back in mid 40's. I hope for a couple big snows in april or its going to be bad dry. Im not complaining though the nice temps are nice for dog training

BRK

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Couldn't be happier about the warmer temps myself and how they've solidified the loose snow. I commute 50+ miles to work and it's been hell since Christmas.

- - - Updated - - -

Couldn't be happier about the warmer temps myself and how they've solidified the loose snow. I commute 50+ miles to work and it's been hell since Christmas.

zoops

Founding Member
Founding Member
Other than this blip today, it's going to get subzero again in a hurry and then we're not supposed to get above freezing for the next 10 days.

You'll be fine.

Big discrepancy between the eastern half of the state and the western this year. Certainly no worries in the eastern half, west of the MO river (including oahe/sak) it could get a little interesting if this continues much longer. Days are still pretty short so hard to melt much yet.