Where to hunt?

Rustywaterdogs

Founding Member
Founding Member
This is my first year grouse hunting. I have an almost 1 year old GSP and I have no idea how to hunt these birds. We have walked for miles in what I thought would be good grouse habitat but have come up empty. I was wondering what is the best habitat for grouse hunting. Do they prefer crp or ag fields and what kind of fields. Are there a decent number of grouse in the north central part of the state to even bother hunting the. Thanks.

Buckmaster81

Founding Member
Founding Member
One rows that border stubble fields and alfalfa and on warm sunny afternoons look to hilly ground with thick bushes for shade.

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
Rolling pasture land with some buckbrush, water, and bordered by wheat stubble, beans, or sunflowers.

3Roosters

Founding Member
Founding Member
Look for alfalfa fields- not too short or too long, harvested bean fields, near a water source. You will probably find them sitting on the side of a hill. On a side note, this assumes the said area is unposted land. If posted, be a courteous hunter, and ask permission.
Good hunting

tsioux

Founding Member
Founding Member
I too, got the itch to chase these buggers. Has anyone found huntable numbers within say a 100 mile radius of fargo? I'll be out with the pup Saturday regardless but a direction would be a nice starting point.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
yes - which counties are considered grouse mecca these days?

Cass county...haha

My good friend and a local outfitter takes clients out towards the badlands, the edges of the Fairfield area. They shoot lots of birds.
More specific I can not be, sorry.

deleted_account

Founding Member
Founding Member
Ive seen a surprising number of grouse in western MN this summer in my travels. I do believe much of it is closed to grouse hunting in order to protect prairie chickens tho, unfortunately.

- - - Updated - - -

Might be something to look into tho

Duckslayer100