Caught my first fish using a baitcaster

ccarver80

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Took a trip to Nelson Lake this weekend, my wife and I had stuff to do in Bismarck. We stopped at Nelson Lake for a little bit and it was too windy for my wife and son to go outside so they sat in the car and watched. Only fish for about an hour but I still able to catch to fish using my new baitcaster rod from McCain fishing!

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
Good for you!! However, I now see a plethora of "Rats Nests" in your future!! Especially when you try using 3/8 oz baits or lighter. Have fun!!!

ccarver80

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Yea Im still learning... The main reason why it looks so bad is like the second cast in that day it got rat nested pretty bad underneath the spool and I just didn't have time to pick it all out so I actually just reeled it in over top of itself and just kept fishing for the day. I came home and ended up picking a lot of it out and I probably dwindled down a good 50 yards of fishing line out of the spool and now it seems the cast way better I wonder if I didn't have too much fishing line in the spool cuz practicing in the backyard I had a good 50 to 75 cast with absolutely no backlash using a half ounce jig... Also I put a couple drops of Gun oil in the spool bearings and that seemed to make a world of difference!

- - - Updated - - -

Thanks!

SupressYourself

Founding Member
Founding Member
Good on ya for stepping up to what I call a "big boy" reel. You'll want to punch it in the face at first but soon you won't want to bass fish with anything else. You'll be dropping rigs into tiny openings in structure like a fricken Jedi.

Sluggo

Founding Member
Founding Member