audubone smallies

jdinny

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm sure this has been asked before but..... thinking about running my boys up to Audubon and try some smallies as I hear they seem to be catching them. I know there is some die hard guys that chase bass and I do not want spots, secrets anything. but for a guys that fishes walleyes primarily any tips? any types of structure or depth to target? Thanks guys please feel free to PM me if wanted. I do not intend to become a bass fisherman rather a change of pace for a wknd.

my computer has a sticky key, forgive the typos...haha

Last edited:

Riggen&Jiggen

Founding Member
Founding Member
I am not a bass expert but I have always had luck throwing spinnerbaites and top water poppers over weed beds. Also I have slip bobbered leaches along the rock embankment and did well.

H82bogey

Founding Member
Founding Member
^^^what he said. Also plastic swim baits work well, might even catch a bonus walleye or 5.

jdinny

Founding Member
Founding Member
slip bobbers and leeches eh!?! brings me back to my high schools days and devils lake walleyes. thanks guys. I would take bonus walleye or five!

BRK

★★★★★ Legendary Member
An as sometimes rather frequent McClusky Canal fisherman i can confirm that a 1/4jig with any type of powerbait will smash some bass. Topwater lures around this time of year should work well. Actually, if i'm being honest, about the only thing i haven't caught a smallie on yet is a daredevil. Best part about pitching jigs off the bottom is you may run into a walleye or five like @H82bogey said.

Phill Latio

Founding Member
Founding Member
My advice? Guys that bass fish do it cause they can't catch walleyes! Go into the shallows (when it's not crazy hot) and rip jig just like u know how to do for eyes and u will be successful.

Stan's Dad

★★★★★ Legendary Member