Rat but what kind

Toby

Banned
Founding Member
Founding Member
I have an old farmhouse out in the country and discovered my first rat, caught it in my basement and one in my garage, lived here for 6 years now. So I set some traps and caught him but I do not know what kind it is. So far no more have shown up and I have lots and lots of traps set. I have heard it could be a wood rat, roof rat, or a Norway rat. Here are some pictures. Body is about 8 inches with a tail of about 7 or 8 as well. What is your guy's take on what kind because I am new to trapping an actual rat, used to trapping muskrats. Here are the pictures:

20180226_192051.jpg
20180226_192058.jpg
20180226_194636.jpg
20180226_194652.jpg
20180226_194706.jpg
20180226_194726.jpg
20180226_194803.jpg
20180226_194952.jpg
20180226_195007.jpg
20180226_195157.jpg

After reading about rats I am really hoping this isn't a Norway...hoping it is just a wood rat. The other thing that really worries me is that I haven't had a mouse all winter which is exceptionally unusual because I normally have mice in my basement in the winters.

I tried to take as many detail pics as I could but, like I said, I am in unfamiliar territory here. Hoping someone can tell me. Thank you.

Huskerdu

Established Member
?Wood.. Don't know what it is for sure...but from seeing the little devils years ago , they don't seem to run in packs, 4/5 at at time , maybe a pack? if you don't have a lot hiding spots on your property and keep your yard clean they won't be a problem in my experience , they show up when the weather warms up

Magpie

Founding Member
Founding Member
That there's the only kind of good rat. A dead one. I'd say Norway by the dark tail. And you've got more than one.

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
I wouldn't spend much time trying to figure it out. Just burn the house down, bulldoze the yard and sell what's left for $1. Rats suck! And I've never known them to be alone.

Toby

Banned
Founding Member
Founding Member