spear fishing...

raider

Founding Member
Founding Member
thinking bout trying this out...

anyone on here into it???

would like any info on equipment and strategy..

thanks...

VDAWG

Founding Member
Founding Member
Go with someone first to learn the ropes. Once you try it you will be head over heels hooked.

raider

Founding Member
Founding Member
do you need sak or devils lake clear water, or detroit lakes clear water... how deep do you usually set up...

can you use a black pop up tent type...

Gator

Founding Member
Founding Member
Every lake is different every year. To start a couple decoys ( pearch, small pike, red and white decoy would work most places) sometimes a daredevil or something flashy works. Use a heavy Dacron line with a heavy swivel, or you will have to repurchase these. I purchased a Lako spear at first 69.99 . As far as where to set up, I am still learning I have had luck in 3' and 18' of water, depends on clearity and their mood. Best times seem to be when it's sunny and calm. Egg shells help to find bottom, white beans work as well, I only use these in stained water ( lake darling). Ice auger with a chisel point works to cut a hole,or a Fishes ice saw, Nills is ok but I don't know if I would buy anything else, far as ice saws go. A cheep plastic snow shovel with 3/8" holes drilled in it, works well to get the slush out. Dark house doesn't have to be that dark but if they can see you move in your house it's game over. I have speared in a clam fish trap and a Eskimo lodge, they both worked just fine, last year I used a cabelas hub house, so far my favorite.

gatorbaiter

Founding Member
Founding Member