Diesel Fuel Expert Advice Needed

Wallike

★★★ Legendary Member
I've got some questions on diesel fuel that I'm being asked and I'm not an expert in that field so I thought I'd ask the folks that are on this site that could offer their educated advice. Thank you in advance!

We have a steam boiler system for heat on our campus. It's a dual system - natural gas - and diesel. Constellation Energy is asking us to go to our alternative fuel source for a couple days. I'm assuming its for load shedding due to the extreme cold temps.

We have a 12,000 gallon diesel tank that hasn't been used since 2014. Do we need to keep this fuel treated? Because it is not. Should we be burning a certain percentage off the tank to keep some fresh fuel mixing in? Because it hasn't. What's the best course of action to make sure this back up fuel system is in the best kept condition for when we may need to rely on it?

Allen

Founding Member
Founding Member
Yes, diesel that is stored for a long time, such as backup generators, should be treated with a biocide to prevent bacterial growth in the tank. Seems kind of odd when you first think about it, but certain bacteria thrive on diesel fuel and they are known to degrade the quality of the fuel and produce a biological film on the filters which can plug the filters. I would suggest implementing some kind of plan that "tests" your backup plan at least once a year that uses 10-25%(?) of your fuel in storage. First of all, not knowing how long your 12,000 gallon tank will run your operation, but perhaps you only really need to have 1,000 gallons in the tank to last 24-48 hrs, which provides you with ample time to call in for a refill as needed. That way you aren't sitting on a pile of fuel of marginal quality going forward.