Lake Sakakawea - Local nickname locations of fishing spots???

defiant1

Honored Member
Ok, since I am new to fishing Lake Sakakawea I am trying to wrap my brain around all the local nicknames people, over time, have ordained certain spots on Lake Sakakawea. When talking with people, they have expressed locations on where they have had fishing success, which would be great information if I had a frame of reference on what location on the lake they were talking about. Everyone (at no fault of their own) assume I know all these areas.

So, to my inquiry, is there a map of some sort that outlines/highlights some of these local nicknames I have encountered? Some examples are:

Deacon Point
Beacon Point (I know there are several)
Pepsi Sign
The Cross
The Flats
Charging Bay
Rocky Bluffs
Spur Bay
Tolly's Point
Beacon Island

These are just a few of the names I have heard. If there is an unofficial map identifying these locations that someone could post, I would appreciate it.

d1

martinslanding

Founding Member
Founding Member
nope...you kind of just have to fish...and then fish some more...keep in mind none of these are super secret and pretty self explanitory...unless you don't know who Tolly is

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
We used to fish locations like shithouse point, skunk hollow, 2-tit, the slime line, high bank, and quite a few more. NONE of these were on any maps, but anyone who fished the same area, ie: guides and locals, all knew these spots. You just have to get out and mix with your fellow fisherman, keep your ears open, and pay attention. BTW, this thread made me smile at the trip down memory lane. Thanks!!!

H82bogey

Founding Member
Founding Member
Looks like you have been fishing around Indian Hills.

Don't forget the "Pump House"

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
This topic has come up a number of times over the years and every time I get excited for the possibility of it actually happening.

- - - Updated - - -