Do my own taxes...?

Chas'n Tail

Founding Member
Founding Member
So maybe it's silly to even ask some of you who already do your own every year, but I'm sick of getting bent over the desk at an office when it takes 15 min and costs bare minimum a C note. I'm married but don't own a business or anything that would complicate it too much. The downfall is that neither my wife nor I have a degree that has anything to do with business, accounting, etc... So can I do it? And if so, what program is the best to get to do it myself?? I literally no nothing, lol. That is all. Thanks in advance!!

701FishSlayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Turbo tax will work fine or use h n r online too. Don't buy any software just go to their site. Turbo tax will run ya like $40 to file fed and state.

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
I dont use the stuff but if its anything like intuit does for everything else -- i bet the software you buy is faster then the software you do online; plus if you have a kid they might want to use it too.

NodakBuckeye

Founding Member
Founding Member
Pretty easy to do, HR Block and other on line stuff will ask proper questions, does not sound like you are looking at any other deductions than dependants, mortgage interest.

Flatrock

Founding Member
Founding Member
I've used TurboTax in the past and it's very straight forward. I think unless a guy has their own business, anyone can do their taxes with an online program just fine. It asks for everything it needs to complete them.

RustyTackleBox

Founding Member
Founding Member
turbo tax makes it simple... every time i use it i get more back than every time I've gone to h&r

Redneck1

I Still fill out the paper copy, n send it in the mail.Standard 1040 form with the usual married n child exemptions. Cost a few stamps. I just don't like paying any fees at all to pay taxes,although I certainly understand that taxes can be too complicated for some situations.

espringers

Founding Member