17 cal vs 22 mag

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
So I didn't want to hijack the long-range rifle thread. I'm hearing we need more nonpolitical threads anyway.

So I now live on the edge of a Pdog town and would like to get a 22 mag semi-auto or a 17 cal. I heard 17 cal came in rimfire and this is the first site I went to.

https://www.coyotelight.com/the-wonderful-world-of-17-caliber-rimfires/

I'm intrigued by the 17 rimfire and was if anyone has any personal experience? Also I'm wondering if anyone can help choose which rabbit hole to go down.....22 mag or 17? I have little experience with either of them. I won't be taking too many shots over 200 yards.

Now I'm using my 223 bolt. I need to clean it but on no wind days I've hit 6 or 7 in a row out past 200 yards.

SupressYourself

Founding Member
Founding Member
I wouldn't discourage anyone from getting another rifle, but what is the use-case here?
Sounds like you have a capable 223. Are you just wanting something quieter for more chances at closer pdogs?

22 Mag is kind of the "308" of magnum rimfires. It's not the newest or flattest shooting, but it gets it done, and ammo is (usually) plentiful.

17 HMR and 17 WSM are newer, "better" designs, but within 200 yards, you're probably not going to notice much difference. And I don't know about the HMR, but I've heard the WSM ammo can be really hard to come by.

ktm450

★★ Legendary Member
i have a henry lever acation17 hrm with a 3x9x40 scope. its a tac driver for me. super fun gun, usually take that for pdogs, have shot coyotes as well with it but not my weapon of choice for that.

LBrandt

★★★★★ Legendary Member