Bow Accuracy - When do you call it good?

NDwalleyes

Founding Member
Founding Member
So yesterday morning I took advantage of the calm winds to tune-up the bow. Now I'm no expert archer, I consider myself average at best.. My goal is to have my grouping size correlate with my yardage, so 20 yards=2 inch group, 40 yards=4 inch group...and so on. I'm not one to take shots beyond 40 yards simply because my confidence falls off significantly at that range and then when you add a little wind to the equation.....

What are everyone else's expectations and accuracy goals inside of 40 yards?

deleted_account

Founding Member
Founding Member
I totally agree with you. One that has helped me is shooting at 60 yards. I would never shoot that far hunting cuz I'm just not comfortable with that shot but when you shoot at 50-60 it makes shooting at 30 seem like a chip shot.

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
Ya, until that monster is out at 60 yds, and you just can't get'em closer. Then you'll want to take the shot.

Account Deleted

Founding Member
Founding Member
Don't really have a set idea I guess. Just finally have my fixies grouping with my field points. Only took two years of pull my hair out frustration (it was my draw length).

LOV2HNT

Founding Member
Founding Member
I practice at twice the yardage I am willing to shoot something at. Not for everyone, but if you can do this those 20,30,40 yard shots you have a lot more confidence.

NDwalleyes

Founding Member
Founding Member
Ya, until that monster is out at 60 yds, and you just can't get'em closer. Then you'll want to take the shot.

"Want to" being the key word. My worst fear is seeing a big buck running around with an arrow sticking out of it's back or wounding one and it dying and not being found.

dust in the wind

Founding Member
Founding Member