DSLR Cameras

Kurtr

Founding Member
Founding Member
My wife asked me what i wanted for christmas and the iphone camera just isnt cutting it any more. I was looking around and this looks like a nice starter set. Any one have it or opinions on the way to go. I know enough about photography that its a very expensive hobby. I want to be able to take nice pictures of hunting and dogs and maybe some videos. At this point i get as much enjoyment watching the birds work and the dog do his thing as i do shooting. I shot 4 times the other day and had a blast.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/prod...j3ThQSlcSOw7NwnZNJe_HkzGypWdbZOUaAuWfEALw_wcB

Weekender

★★★ Legendary Member
I have that camera with the standard lens. Takes nice pictures and is easy to use. I'm not an expert and don't have much to compare it to, but it takes better pictures than an iPhone.

Platinum

Founding Member
Founding Member
That Canon package is a great set up for the dollars. They take great pictures and are easy to use. You wouldn't be disappointed.

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
The upside to Canon is that even their most basic DSLR body will accept their L-Series top quality lenses, and their batteries last for freakin' EVER. I took 1500-1800 pics on our '11 AK Caribou hunt and I don't think I got even half-way through the 1st battery. That's the small battery that goes in the camera, not that big-bastard that makes a handle too.

My only critique would be that I'd prefer more than 3 frames/second if I were trying to capture outdoor action shots.

fireone

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Rule 1. The heavier the camera the less you will carry it afield. I have a Nikon with a monster telephoto lens. Great for shooting off a tripod or from a blind but otherwise it is a truck camera only.

Kurtr

Founding Member
Founding Member