Fishing line suggestions

wfginsptr

Founding Member
Founding Member
Over the last winter I obtained 3 baitcasting rod & reel combos (and the wife even knows) so i am looking for suggestions on what weight and type of line to use with them.

I have never used these types of setup before but am looking forward to the experience, I mostly fish for walleye, northern, perch and crappie in the ND lakes but sometimes end up on a MN lake.

Thanks in advance,

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
Back in high school when baitcasters were the only surefire way to catch largemouth bass, I was told to put on heavier line in order to avoid backlash.

I can't honestly tell you if it worked. I still suck at baitcasters.

NDOUTDOORS

Start with 12-14 pound trilene XT. If you get that down and your able to cast without backlashes look at Suffix 8 32 braid. With that said you want to make sure you match mono size with same size braid when it comes to diameter. If you cast 8 pound fireline in a bait caster you are asking for trouble!

Kickemup

Founding Member
Founding Member
I run 30lb PP in all my baitcasters. Occasionally have a backlash but that normally happens in the first 10 casts.

MSA

Founding Member
Founding Member
20# suffix 832....if you dont like it, ill pay you full price for it, and reel it right off your combo onto my own.

Callem'In

Founding Member
Founding Member
I run 15lb power pro as well. Start with mono and learn how to use/cast, then switch to power pro.

revolutionz

★★★ Legendary Member