The Water Cooler

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
I think I've maybe met two of you in person, but I like this place. Full of schlubs just like me. Guys who work hard, play hard, and maybe hunt and fish more than they should.

Far from me to be the downer, but other than my wife I have very few folks to vent to. I'd like to start a thread where we simply vent about work. It's what you'd do at the water cooler with that one guy you get along with and you've maybe shared a couple brewskis after work. You might even take him fishing to your secret prairie Nodak lake, and you'll cover for him on those nights you sneak off for a pint and tell the wives you have to work late.

So I'll start.

I love where I work. It took me far too long from when I graduated to figure out "what I want to be when I grow up." True, I really don't have an answer, but from all my careers this is the first one where I really enjoyed going to work. Or at least, didn't dread it.

But there is one person -- ONE PERSON -- I can't freaking stand. Let's call him Mark. Mark is the quintessential ass kisser. He was brought in a few years ago to take over in a management position, and for the life of me I don't know what he does. My best guess, is he does all the menial personnel crap that our owner doesn't want to do.

Even that he sucks at. Nobody likes Mark. They put up with his "winning" punctuations in every email, or "atta boy" in a group text, but once he's out of the picture, the truth comes out.