Crankbaitin-Boat Control

Vollmer

Founder
Administrator
I see quite often that when a crankbait fish is hooked that people just keep on keeping on while basically skiing in the fish. To me skiing in a 3 lb plus fish is not all that fun. Im new to cranking, so im curious, does a guy leave the boat in gear, slow down, or stop altogether. Reel other lines? I'm curious what everyone does when they hook a crankbait fish?

huffranger

Founding Member
Founding Member
Big fish NUETRAL
Small fish Skiing :)

Like this,

Last edited:

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
If you're in strong current you don't have much choice, you have to ski them in. If you can't keep going, like when my boy snagged a buffalo carp in the side, you have to get all lines in, and chase it down. I think you'll lose less fish if you just slow down a little. In the lake we'll put boat in neutral, for a bit to slow down, but keep it moving forward, and try to keep it straight.

RangerNation81

Founding Member
Founding Member
For me it all depends on the situation!! If it's a tournament I'll try and keep the boat moving unless it's a really nice fish! More than likely if you can keep the boat moving or even slow down a touch it might trigger another bite! If it's a windy nasty day then for sure keep the boat moving to avoid a cluster ****!

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
041.jpg
Water Ski the ones you can, if they are over 20-22" I slow down. In and out of gear, make sure you don't turn the boat.

eyexer

Founding Member
Founding Member
if you have four to six lines out sometimes skiing is alot easier than pulling lines. most of the time big fish won't do that anyway.

RangerNation81

Founding Member
Founding Member
IMG_20150625_190055164.jpg
Water Ski the ones you can, if they are over 20-22" I slow down. In and out of gear, make sure you don't turn the boat.