Training collars

camoman

Founding Member
Founding Member
Looking at an e-collar for my newer pooch - seeing all these new collars with GPS and wondering if that’s worth the extra money? I don’t really PLAN to have him roam like that, but never know with a young dog. Like all the options that the Garmin Alpha + Tri tronics collar offers, especially that you can add another collar, but is there another decent option, something I should look to. Really would like a collar that does vibrate, tone, and the stim - but I could probably be persuaded otherwise.

riverview

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have often wondered when i see pointers in the field and there are 2 or 3 antennas sticking off the dogs collars, then i saw how far there pointers worked ahead of them. I started training dogs before the collar craze and have never used one. I agree they are a good tool if used properly.

Kentucky Windage

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have often wondered when i see pointers in the field and there are 2 or 3 antennas sticking off the dogs collars, then i saw how far there pointers worked ahead of them. I started training dogs before the collar craze and have never used one. I agree they are a good tool if used properly.

you obviously don’t own a female named Karen. Good choice

BrokenBackJack

Founding Member
Founding Member
We never had to shock more than 3 times total with our Labs. After that we just would tone or viberate or both and that was all it took. If it was even needed. Different breeds need different training.
Saw far too many people with shock collars that would just fry their dog. Felt sorry for the dog as it ended up not knowing what in the heck the owner wanted them to do. Don't get carried away with shocking and you don't have to fry them when using the shock part.
We used Tri-tronics and liked them and they worked excellent for us.
Good luck!

Last edited:

wslayer

Founding Member
Founding Member