ice fishing noob, need help

ktm450

★★ Legendary Member
Hey all,

Ice fishing noob here. I was giving my grandpas old ice fishing set up (nothing fancy, old poles and an ancient ice auger lol) and I would really like to go out and try it sometime, but really have no idea what im doing. How do u know where to set up on a lake, or where to target fish at? Don't really care what I catch, just want to be able to have a shot at catching something.

I drive by aaroda lakes, and harmon lake all the time and hardly ever see anyone on them. The stocking report looks like there should be some fish in them. Any suggestions, tips or tricks on how to get them to bite? How do u fish for perch, crappie and the like? Not looking for anyones honey holes, but just trying to have a better shot at catching some fish when I go try.

TIA for the help, happy ice fishing all,

ktm450

ktm450

★★ Legendary Member
Have you fished at all or just haven’t ice fished?

Have done a little shore fishing, but not much. Usually get bored to quick and move onto something else. Ha

Ice fishing I have very little experience with.

Account Deleted

Founding Member
Founding Member
Alright, well I don’t fish nearly as much as I hunt but, when I’m looking for fish, I’m generally looking for structure that will hold them. Drop Offs, etc. I’m guessing you don’t have anything electronic to find them so you’re gonna be doing it kind of blind. Perch will be near the bottom, crappies are usually suspended, sometimes just right under the ice. You would have an extremely tough time finding crappies without a sonar of some sort. Live minnows below bobbers on jigs would be my go to if I were you, anywhere from right on the bottom to 6 inches off. You’d gain a lot if you could find someone to go with.

risingsun

Founding Member
Founding Member