Planer Boards

Browneye

Founding Member
Founding Member
When I'm fishing for walleye, most the time I'm either using bottom bouncers or jigging. When watching fishing shows I sometimes see them using planer boards. In some situations like spring fishing when fish are up pretty shallow I could see where the boat could possibly spook fish when it goes over where having lines off to the side might be an advantage. Any way I have no experience with them, have never even fished with someone who used them. Am I missing out by not having them or is it better time and money spent learning how to do what I am already doing a little better?

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
Planer boards =way of getting out more lines out back of boat when trolling cranks

Ericb

Founding Member
Founding Member
Planer boards =way of getting out more lines out back of boat when trolling cranks

This fall I started using dipsey divers and snap weights for salmom. I could run 2 lines wide to the sides with dipseys and 3 across the back with weights. I'm hoping g to try a similar set up this spring on the river.

Vollmer

Founder
Administrator
I would think in that situation you might be better off casting into the shallows. Pulling spinners/lindy's under planer boards that shallow is going to be tricky to do imo. Snags!

I mostly use my planer boards for cranks.

ShootnBlanks

Founding Member
Founding Member
Great thread. I'm in same situation. Never ran boards. Wonder if it's worth the time and money. So they aren't ideal for bottom bouncing spinners?

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
Minneukin (I can't spell) bombers and planer boards. The 90s u had to luv em

NodakBuckeye

Founding Member
Founding Member