Garmin, Lowrance, or Bird

Allen

Founding Member
Founding Member
So, I have been feeling like I'm getting a little left behind by technology as of late. Those of you who have played with Livescope, Panoptix, and Active versions of the big 3 sonar makers, which do you prefer, and why?

Thinking of a dual purpose unit that I can use on the ice and off the boat via a pole, or ???. I have no experience with any of them.

If it matters, I currently am running HDS Gen 3s with a 7" screen on the dash of the Toon and Lund, and have a newer Garmin Echomap up in the bow.

LOV2HNT

Founding Member
Founding Member
I was out with a buddy this past weekend who is running the Garmin Panoptix, the latest one I believe. It was the first time I've ever seen one in action and it was pretty cool and now I want one. I'm in the same boat as you Allen and haven't kept up with all the new technology and am in the dark on these things. They don't exactly come cheap though. I'll be paying attention to this thread as I'm sure there's others on here who are using the other brands and I'd like to hear their perspective.

AaronJ

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have had Lowrance Active Target and Garmin Livescope with both the LVS 32 and LVS 34 transducers. Humminbird is light years BEHIND both Lowrance and Garmin in the FFS game.

For all of my FFS (2 or 3 in the boat) I will be running Garmin. I will have Garmin 12 and Lowrance 12 on the dash, Garmin 16 and Lowrance 12 on the bow (with Livescope), and Garmin 12 on track mount for my wife to use a 2nd LVS 34 LS in the back of the boat.

I feel the image quality of Garmin is better than Lowrance. I also feel the hookup is easier without having to have the "black box" wired to a switch. I will have the ability, with Lowrance on the bow and console, to add Active Target pretty easily if I have a Garmin failure or want multiple views at the same time.